DHS Announces Open Registration for TPS Designation for Myanmar (Burma) Nationals

On May 24, 2021, the Department of Homeland Security published a Federal Registration Notice (FRN) designating Myanmar (also known as Burma) for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for 18 months, starting in May 25, 2021, and ending on November 25, 2022. 

Back in March, Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro N. Mayorkas previously announced that Myanmar would be designated for TPS, which allows an estimated 1,600 Burmese nationals who have been continuously living in the U.S. since March 11, 2021, and continuously physically present in the country since May 25, 2021, to file initial applications.  

Eligible individuals must submit an initial Form I-821 (Application for Temporary Protected Status) during the 180-day initial registration period, which starts on May 25, 2021, until November 22, 2021. In addition, they may also apply for TPS-related work documents and travel authorization. 

TPS enables eligible individuals of specific countries to temporarily remain and work in the United States. Other countries with TPS designations include El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen. 

In February, the Burmese military orchestrated a coup and overthrew democratically elected government officials, then instituted a temporary one-year state of emergency. Demonstrations and protests to the coup have been met with increasing oppression and violence, resulting in a humanitarian crisis. 

If you are a Burmese national who is interested in obtaining Temporary Protected Status in Illinois, Arizona, or Texas, contact Gambacorta Law today at (847) 443-9303 to learn how our legal team can help you.